A gym contract has become a prison sentence

…with no possibility of parole.  So my question is why have a gym membership contract?  Wouldn’t it save a lot of paper if they just tattooed each member with PROPERTY OF WOW! for LIFE?  A back sized tattoo would probably be a whole lot less painful than trying to get out of a contract! 

A few months ago I really hurt my wrist and was told to avoid the gym at all costs (more or less) little did I know how much avoiding the gym was going to cost a pretty penny.  For four months now I have been back and forth with WOW!s financial company ABC.  And even though they see I am trying to cancel (and have notes to prove it) they are still charging me.  And of course they don’t do anything faster than trying to make molasses move in winter. 

 I fax something over and then call to see if they received it “yep, everything looks fine,”  then I get a letter in a WEEK saying that everything is not fine and by the way you owe us more money for next month.  OK, I refax with the changes they request and when I call I make sure they actually read the documents..”this should fix it” they say.  Great!  Two weeks pass in a flash and I’m thinking I have finally canceled my membership when wouldn’t you know I get ANOTHER letter.  FREAKIN A!  Now instead of just a doctor’s note describing the injury, now all of a sudden the note needs to say I have a “substantial or permanent disability.”  Yet my contract said a doc’s note would suffice.  Maybe the whole  “substantial or permanent disability” small type was in invisible ink because it certainly is NOT in my contract.   And because ABC is technically a different entity I can’t get the satisfaction of going somewhere and yelling at someone, unless I want to fly to Podunk, OK.  Which at this point is sounding pretty good!!!!!! So now not only do I owe my membership fees but late fees as well because they drag their feet like they are in lead shoes. 

Just so you know, I called two days ago and Chevelle said she would take care of it and was super sweet.  Then the mail comes today…guess who I got a letter from?  ARGH

Just say NO to WOW!

Just say NO to WOW!

Leave a comment